indiana counseling association


The Indiana Counseling Association is committed to enhancing the counseling profession and the professional counselors who serve others. The Indiana Counseling Association is dedicated to advocating the counseling profession and empowering individuals, families, and communities, including providing ethical, diverse, and culturally-sensitive practices and appropriate treatment.


The Indiana Counseling Association was founded in December 1960 by the initiative of a Faculty Member of Notre Dame University. Its name, at the time, was related to "personnel & human resources." However, seven years later (in February 1967) ICA was incorporated as a nonprofit organization in Indiana and in 1970 it was granted the tax-exempt status (501, c, 3 status) by the Internal Revenue Service.

ICA’s overall operations and affairs are governed by the Board of Directors and various Standing Committees, an all-volunteer team of counselors from throughout the state. We'd love to have you. Why not volunteer to lend your talent, your knowledge, your invaluable experience, and your enthusiasm?

It won’t interfere

The Association is fully aware that you have a “day job,” so you will not be asked to sacrifice your attention to your daily work. As current and past volunteers will tell you, when lots of people each do a little, no one has to do a lot.

You could:

  • Serve on the Board
  • Serve on a Committee
  • Make a presentation for a webinar or at the annual conference
  • Recruit your colleagues to join

Apply to be on the Board of Directors for the 2021-2022 Year: ICA Board of Directors Nomination Form 

*Note: All ICA Board of Directors positions run for 1-year terms (July-July), with exceptions of the President and Treasurer that serve for 2-year terms.

According to our current Bylaws, all Executive Board and Committee positions require that applicants go through the formal election process with review by the Nominations Committee. All nominations for Professional-Interest Division and Representative positions are reviewed by the Board of Directors for approval.


(a) All Professional, Emeritus, New Professional, and Student members in good standing of the Association shall have the right to nominate candidates. From the candidates nominated by the membership, and from candidates selected by the Nominations Committee itself, the Nominations Committee shall present a slate of candidates for the open positions to the membership for its consideration and voting. Voting by membership will take place before the end of the fiscal year for all open Board officer positions. 

(b) All candidates for President and President-Elect should, at the time of their election, be a current member or past member of the Board, or must have served in a leadership capacity in a Professional-Interest Division or Standing Committee. 


  • President
  • President-Elect
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Legislative Committee Chair
  • Membership Committee Chair 
  • Conference/Education Committee Chair
  • Committee Member (Legislative, Membership, Conference/Education, or Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee)
  • IMHCA Representative
  • ISCA Representative
  • ICES Representative
  • ASERVIC Representative
  • Student Representative
  • LMFT Representative
  • LCAC Representative
  • LCSW Representative

All Nomination applications must be submitted by May 1, 2021. Applications can also be emailed to along with the most recent resume or CV.

For further questions, please contact

See our Bylaws here: ICA_Bylaws_Final_1_.pdf

Dissertation Research Study Requests: Submit a Dissertation Research Study Request

2020-2021 Board of Directors 





Carissa Lopez-Bockus, MS, LMHC

Immediate Past President

Cheryl Warner, PhD

Executive Director

Tilija Drobnjakovic, EdD 

Paul Backer, CPA


Anthony M. McCrovitz, PhD, LMHC

Emeline Eckart, PhD, LPC-S, NCC


Legislative Committee Chair

Dale V Wayman, PhD, LCAC, LMHC, ACS

Legislative Committee Member

Suzette Sorrells, MS, LMHCA

Membership Committee Chair

Conference/Education Committee Chair

Christine Sutton, LMHC, NCC

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Chair

Dynetta Clark, LMHC, NBCC


Indiana Mental Health Counselor Association (IMHCA) Representative


Indiana School Counselor Association (ISCA) Representative

Jen Money-Brady, Ed.D., NCC, DCC 

Director of Counselor Education & Supervision (ICES)  

Aleksandar Drobnjakovic, PhD

Association for Spiritual, Ethical, and Religious Values in Counseling (ASERVIC) Representative

Michael Trexler, Ph.D., LMHC, NCC 


IndiATA (Art Therapy) Representative 

Kaitlin Knapp, MA, ATR, LMHC

Student Representative

Isabella Betancourt, BA, Counseling Graduate Student at the University of Indianapolis

LMHC Representative

Jama Davis, Ph.D., LMHC (IN), LCMHC (NC), NCC, ACS

LMFT Representative

Robert Atchison, PhD, LMFT, NCC

LCAC Representative

Eric L Davis, PhD, LCSW, LCAC 

LCSW Representative


Copyright (c) 2020- All Rights Reserved

The Indiana Counseling Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

Mailing Address:

11209 Yalumba Pass

Roanoke, IN 46783

Phone: 615-856-6383

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software